In this article:
- Send all your content for approval
- Taking content from Pending Approval to Approved
- How are Approvers notified?
- Override Approvers
Typically after you draft content, a client or manager will need to review it. On Gain, you can send single posts, a week or two weeks worth of posts, or an entire month of content for review.
When you are ready to send content for review, select the post or posts and then click To Approval from the action bar, which is visible wherever you are selecting content within Gain. Keep in mind, you can only send content for approval that has been saved and is in Draft mode, Revision mode, or that must be moved manually through each step in your Approval Workflow.
Send all your content for approval
Here’s how to send Draft content for review from the Calendar or List view:
- Filter your content by Format, Status, Channel, etc. so that only the content you need is showing.
2. Then click the All button, or click + Shift to select individual posts and/or content that you want to send for approval.
3. Choose a single Approver or an Approval Workflow to start the approval process.
- If you’re choosing a single Approver, make sure the option “Auto-schedule after user approves” is selected if you want the content to be automatically scheduled once approved.
- You can also add a note that will be seen by all Approvers when you send the content:
Taking content from Pending Approval to Approved
Once you’ve sent content for approval, you will see the content status change as it moves through the approval process – from Draft to Pending Approval, Revision Requested, Ready for the Next Round, or Approved.
The status will be noted next to every piece of content, so you will be able to easily identify content with the same status in the Calendar or List view, or use filters to check on the status of any specific content.
In the List view, a column labeled Status allows you to see who is the Approver, who is next in the Approval process, and the last time the Approvers were notified.
After content has been sent to someone (or many people) for approval, it will have the “Pending Approval” status. Members of the internal team can see and update content with this status. Additionally, anyone with Publisher or Admin access can send any content with the “Pending Approval” status back to drafts if they wish to cancel the approval process altogether.
Clients can only see content with the “Pending Approval” status if it is pending their approval. An Approver has two options for what they can do with this content:
- Approve. This will mark the content “Approved” (if this person was the only Approver) or it will send the content to the next person in the Approval Workflow if multiple Approval Rounds were set up.
2. Request Revision. This will mark the content as “Requires Revision” and will alert the internal team to make the requested changes.
Ready for Next Round
Whenever you add one or more Approvers into an Approval Workflow, each Round has options that affect how content moves through the approval process.
Manually advance to the next Round is one of these options.
When this option is on, Gain will automatically move content to the next Round in the Approval Workflow once everyone in the current Round approves it. Gain will automatically notify everyone in the next Round that they have content pending their review.
When this option is off, content will be marked “Ready for next Round” and it is up to your internal team to manually send the content to the next Round in the Approval Workflow by clicking the “Continue Process” button.
After an Approver requests a revision on content, it will have the “Requires Revision” status. Members of the internal team can make the requested changes or edits to the content, then resend the content for approval, which will notify the Approver again and mark the content as Pending Approval once again.
In the List view, you will be able to see who requested the revision in the Status column. All revision requests go to the person who originally created the content as well as any person who has been given access to receive activity notifications for that brand, specific piece of content, or channel.
Additionally, the creators of any content with the Requires Revision status can ask follow up questions to the Approvers.
Approvers will receive a notification when there is a follow up question or comment, and can respond the next time they log in.
Any content that isn’t set to “Auto schedule after approved” will remain with the “Approved” status. This means the content will not be automatically scheduled by Gain, and someone will need to manually schedule or publish the content.
How are Approvers notified?
We know how much everyone, including us, hates receiving a ton of follow up emails. Approvers will receive automatic reminders from Gain every 6 hours, 12 hours, 24 hours, 48 hours, and 72 hours after they are first notified there is content pending their approval.
When content is sent for approval for the first time, the Approver will receive a notification via email. Even if you send 10 pieces of content, the Approver will only receive one notification. If you, or another team member, sends more content for them to approve later, then they will receive another notification.
When all content is approved, the automatic reminders will stop. This way, when new content is sent for approval, a new notification will be sent and the process will start over.
Re-send a notification to an Approver
After revisions have been made to content, you can re-send another notification to Approvers letting them know the content has been revised. There are two ways to re-notify Approvers after revisions have been made:
- Inside the content editor, click on Renotify Approvers
2. In the Calendar or List view, filter the content by “Rev” status, select your content, and then click To Approval.
Note: Leaving a comment for an Approver will automatically renotify them, placing the content back in the Pending Approval status.
To override an Approver who is on leave or has already given you approval in another way, you can manually mark the content as approved.
- In the content editor, click Approval.
2. Then, click the three dots, and Mark Approved. Leave a comment explaining why you’re overriding the Approval, and click Send.
Edit an Approval Round
You can edit approval rounds inside each piece of content to remove someone or to customize the Approval Round further. Only the Rounds in which people have not yet been notified can be edited, so if the content is already pending someone’s Approval in that Round, you will not be able to edit it.
- Click the three dots in the Round, and then click Edit.
2. Now you will be able to remove an Approver, add more people to the Round, or modify the Approving Preferences for that Round. Click Save.
3. After your changes are complete, make sure to Save the content to continue the approval process with the new changes.
Note: This will only modify the approval process for a single piece of content, not an established Approval Workflow. If you need to modify an Approval Workflow permanently, go to Approval Workflows under Brand Settings.