Occasionally, the connection between Gain and your social accounts will need to be reauthorized. This is a standard procedure social networks require of all third-party apps to keep your accounts safe. 

Connections between Gain and your social accounts require access tokens which can expire for multiple reasons depending on each social networks’ policies. When an access token expires, you will be required to reconnect that social account. For the most part, social accounts only require a simple reconnection. 

In this article, we will go over each social networks’ specific policies on access tokens and best practices for keeping your channels connected for as long as possible. 

When do access tokens expire, disconnecting your account from Gain? 

Each social network has their own policies on when and why access tokens can expire. 

Facebook and Instagram 

Facebook and Instagram accounts require reconnecting more often than LinkedIn and Twitter. According to Facebook, access tokens last around 60 days but there are several reasons why they might expire: 

  • Changes in Admin access for Facebook Pages
  • Publishing identical posts to several accounts at the same time
  • Logging into your account from many different IP addresses (for example, if several people have the email and password login information for an account)
  • Logging in and out of several different accounts
  • Any activity considered “not secure” by Facebook’s AI-based algorithm 

In some instances, your social accounts will need to be fully reauthorized as reconnecting them won’t work. See here how to fully reauthorize your Facebook channels to Gain.

LinkedIn 

LinkedIn access tokens expire every 60 days and we’ve seen this is mostly the case; however, other instances where tokens might expire are: 

  • Changes in Admin access for Company Pages 
  • Publishing identical posts to several accounts at the same time

Twitter

Twitter will suspend your accounts if their AI-based algorithm detects spam or any other malicious behavior. This will cause the connection to Gain to be temporarily disabled as well. Other than that, we haven’t seen any other instances where Twitter accounts need to be reconnected.

Best practices to keep your access token from expiring early 

  • Have only one person assigned to reauthorized channels in Gain 
  • Do not log in to Facebook as another person to reauthorize channels
  • Always reauthorize channels with your own login
  • Turn on two-factor authentication in your Facebook accounts 
Did this answer your question?