Manage user roles & permissions

In this article: 

Gain allows five different user roles: the Account Owner, Administrators, Publishers, Contributors, and Approvers. In the People in Account section, you can add or change permissions for each user.

Important: A user is everyone who has to login to Gain, be they account owners, administrators, contributors, publishers, or approvers.

Choose the right roles

Each level of permission defines the functionalities the user will be able to access. Here’s what each role means:

Workspace Admin

  • Can access Workspace Settings.
  • Connect or disconnect social channels.
  • Create or delete file folders.
  • Can add people and assign permissions only to their workspace(s).
Account Admin

  • Has access to everything except your account’s billing page.
  • Can modify user’s permissions, and add or remove them from any workspace.
  • Can create or delete any workspace in your account.
  • Export content from any workspace.
Account Owner

The person who creates the account is the owner by default.
Has access to everything, including billing details. 
Can reassign ownership. 
Note: only one account owner per account is allowed
Publisher
  • Can create, edit, and delete content in any status.
  • Export content from their workspace(s).
  • Send content to approval, approve and request changes.
  • Can schedule and publish social content.
Contributor

Any internal or external stakeholder or content creator, like an intern, freelancer, or client.

  • Can create and send content for approval.
  • Can create and edit content in draft, pending approval, or revision status.
  • Can see activity tracker, comments, and task assignments.
Approver
  • Any client or stakeholder whose only task is to approve content.
  • Doesn’t need a password to log in (logs in via email notifications).
  • Can access calendar to see upcoming content previews that are in Scheduled or Live status.

Note: Approvers can’t be mentioned, see task assignments, or the activity tracker.


Add or remove people & permissions

The account owner or administrator can adjust permissions and add or remove people in People in Account. 

Important: Only the account owner can transfer ownership of the account to another user. 

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.