In this article:

  • Choose the right roles
  • Add or remove people & permissions

Gain allows 5 different user roles: the Account Owner, Administrators, Publishers, Contributors, and Approvers. In the People in Account section, you can add or change permissions for each user.

Important: A user is everyone who has to login to Gain to perform an action, be they account owners, administrators, contributors, publishers, or approvers.

Choose the right roles

Each level of permission defines the functionalities the user will be able to access. Here’s what each role means:

Account Owner

The account owner has access to everything in your Gain account. Only the account owner can view and change billing information such as your plan or the payment method. Each Gain account has only one account owner and the person who signs up for the account is the account owner by default.

If you need to transfer ownership to another team member, you can do so from the People in Account page.

Administrators

Administrators can have admin rights to Brands or the account as specified. As account administrators, they have access to everything except billing information.

As brand administrators, they can access Brand Settings to connect or disconnect social channels, create files collections, modify user permissions, and export data. Brand Administrators can’t add or remove people from your account or access billing information.

Publishers

Publishers have access to Brands where they can create and edit content, export data, send content to approval, approve or request changes, as well as schedule and publish. They can’t access account or brand settings.

Contributors

Contributors can create and edit drafts, send content for approval, and edit any content that is in the approval stages (such as pending approval, revision required, or ready for the next round). They can’t access account or brand settings, export data, schedule, publish or delete content in any status.

A contributor user can be any internal or external stakeholder or content creator. A common example of contributors within an agency are interns, freelancers, clients, or contractors whose only task is to create and manage content.

Approvers

Typically, the approver role is designated for clients or internal stakeholders whose only task is to approve content. By default, Approvers are logged in via email notifications and don’t need a password to log in to approve content.

Approvers can access the calendar to see upcoming content but can’t participate in or see any internal activity such as Draft content, @mentions, task assignments, or comments.

Note: Since approvers are not considered part of the content creation team, they don’t receive an invitation to join your account. Instead, they’re notified via email only when there’s content pending their approval.

Add or remove people & permissions

The account owner or administrator can adjust permissions and add or remove people in People in Account.

Important: Only the account owner can transfer ownership of the account to another user.

Did this answer your question?