In this article:
- Create & edit an approval workflow
An approval workflow allows you to add people into one or more rounds of approval and automate your approval process. All approval workflows are like templates with special rules that you can save and reuse each time you need to send content for approval.
With approval workflows you can:
- Add as many people and rounds as you need
- Decide who approves what and in what order
- Content moves automatically to the next person for review, revisions, or approval
In the Approval Workflows section under Brand Settings, you can set up workflows for your brand.
Important: Be sure to invite anyone who will be approving content to your account before you create an approval workflow.
Create & edit an approval workflow
You could set up the approval process manually for each piece of content, but that would be a cumbersome task. To help with this, Gain lets you define Approval Workflows that you can reuse.
Here are the steps to create a new workflow:
- Click on the + New Approval Workflow button. A blank approval workflow will appear prompting you to Add People to the first round.
Here is an example of a typical approval process for an agency:
Each stage of the Approval Workflow is called a Round and each round has options that affect how content moves through the approval process. Here are the options to customize each round:
- Everyone must approve / Any single person can approve this round - When the round is set to Everyone must approve, every single person in that round must give the okay to the content is sent to the next round. When the round is set to Any single person can approve, as soon as one approver gives the okay, the whole round is marked approved.
- Auto-advances to next round after approved / Must manually advance to next round after approved - With this option selected, as soon as a round is approved Gain will automatically send the appropriate notifications to the next round of approvers. When this option is off, the content will be marked Ready for next round and it is up to your team to continue the approval process by sending it to the next round manually.
- Auto-schedules after approved / Must manually schedule after approved - With this option on, the content will be automatically scheduled (assuming you've set a future publishing date for it) once all rounds have been approved. When this option is off it is up to you to manually schedule the content.
Important: Only people that have access to this brand will appear in the dropdown list. So make sure the people who will approve content for this brand have access to your Gain account first.
2. After choosing a person from the dropdown list, you can add another approver to this round by clicking on the “+” icon or add a new round.
3. Once you are done setting up your workflow, give it a meaningful name under the Workflow Name field. The workflow name is only visible to your internal team.
Now that your approval workflow is set up, you're ready to start sending content for approval with it. Next time you send content for approval, you can select it from the Workflow tab.
Edit your approval workflows
If you need to modify a workflow, you can drag and drop people from one round to another, or remove them by clicking on the “X”. After you save the changes, make sure to update any content already going through this workflow. You may need to send content for approval again using the new workflow if you’ve added new people or removed someone.
Now that your approval process is set up, you’re going to want to start sending content for approval. Learn everything you need to know about sending content for approval.