In this article:
- Draft mode
- Pending Approval
- Requires Revision
- Ready for Next Round
- Pending Manual Publishing - MPUB (Instagram Only)
To make managing and creating content easier, Gain allows you to see the status of your content depending on what state of the publishing workflow it is currently in.
Important: On your Gain calendars, the status can be identified by the colored circles. Each color represents a different stage in the workflow.
We'll go over all the stages your content will go through, from draft to published.
Any time you create new content in Gain and save it, it will be saved as a Draft. A Draft allows members of your internal team to work together on the content by adding text, pictures, videos, files, etc., to it. All members of the internal team (i.e. contributors, publishers, admins) can see drafts.
Gain allows you to save drafts that are incomplete (for example, an Instagram post without an image or video) and draft posts with errors (for example, a tweet that is over Twitter’s character limit). However, these errors must be fixed before the content can be scheduled, published, or sent to approval.
Once your drafted content is complete, you’ll typically want to do one of three things:
- Send it for approval
- Schedule it
- Publish it directly
All posts that have not been sent for approval or scheduled will have the Draft status. If you have selected a publishing date, then the content will appear on the calendar under that date. If not, it will appear under the List view.
After content has been sent to someone (or a group of people) for approval, it will move to the Pending Approval status. Members of the internal team can see and update content in this state. Additionally, publishers and administrators can send content back to the draft status if they wish to cancel the approval process altogether.
Approvers can only see content pending approval if it is pending approval from them – i.e. if they are the assigned approver(s).
An approver has two options for what they can do with a piece of content:
- Approve it - This will mark the content Approved (if there is only one approver) or send the content to the next person for approval (if there are multiple approval levels).
- Request a Revision - This will change the status of the content to Requires Revision and will alert the internal team to make the necessary fixes.
After an approver requests a revision on a piece of content, the content will have the Requires Revision status. With this status, the internal team can make the requested fixes to the content, ask questions for clarification, and then resend the content for approval, sending the content back to the same approver and marking the post with the Pending Approval status once again.
On the column labeled Approval Progress under the List view, you will be able to see who requested the revisions as well as which round the content is currently in. All revision requests go to the person working on the brand and in that channel as well as to any followers.
In this stage, you can ask a follow-up question to approvers’ comments and have controlled conversations with your clients.
Once content has been approved by all approvers in all approval rounds, it will have the Approved status. Publishers and administrators can see and make final updates to content with this status. Approvers can see, but cannot edit, approved content.
If the option Auto-schedule: post after all approved is selected when the contents sent to approval, then Gain will automatically schedule the content and it will go from Approved to the Scheduled status.
If Auto-schedule post after all approved is not selected, then the content will remain with the Approved status once approved and it will be up to the internal team to manually schedule or publish the content Gain will not publish content unless it has the Scheduled status, or it is published manually.
Ready for Next Round
Some teams may prefer to handle content with multiple approval rounds in a more manual way. When you create approval workflows with multiple rounds, each round will have an option titled auto-advance to next round after approved. When this option is off, any content that is approved by users in a certain round will not go directly to users of the next round. Instead, the content will be marked as Ready for Next Round. With this status, it is up to the internal team to manually resend the content to approval, which will send it to the next round of approvers.
When content is scheduled manually by a user or automatically by Gain, it will have the Scheduled status. Publishers and administrators can see and make updates to content with this status. Approvers can see, but can’t edit, approved content.
Important: Gain will only automatically publish posts when they have the Scheduled status. Posts with another status will not auto-publish, even if they have a publication date set. For example, an Approved post with a publication date will not be published unless it is specifically scheduled.
Pending Manual Publishing - MPUB (Instagram Only)
Gain cannot directly publish some types of content, most notably Instagram posts. When this type of content is sent for publishing, it isn’t marked Live immediately. Instead, push notifications are sent to a designated user who must publish the post(s) manually, and the post(s) are marked Pending Manual Publishing. Once the user manually publishes the post, he or she has the option to manually mark the content, Live (or Published).
All Instagram content with this status is ready to be published with the Gain Notify app by the designated Manual Publisher. The manual publisher must download the Gain Notify app so they can be reminded and publish content from their mobile devices.
Published content is marked as Live when it is live on the corresponding social network. For archival purposes, Live content cannot be edited or deleted by anyone; however, comments can be added to the content and copies of the content can be made.
Any content that has been deleted on Gain will have the Deleted status. As a default, Gain will not show you deleted content, but you can display it in the List or Calendar view by going to the filters area and selecting the Deleted status.
Posts with the Deleted status can only be sent back to drafts or be copied. Clients cannot see deleted content.
Now that you know how content moves from the draft status to published, learn how to organize content in the calendar to optimize your workflow.